What's new

how long to veg....

Ganjagrower1

T5-1000W
Veteran
I am fairly new to this, i have had a couple of grows now. I am looking for anyones opinion on what is the length of time to veg a plant out. In my first couple of grows i had noticed that i have a lot of stretching. I am trying to keep them down to about a foot and a half. But at the same time i am not wanting to lose the quantity of the bud either. And another question i have is i was using 2 400w lights and my buds werent dense. I am thinking of up grading to a 1000w electronic ballast. Will that produce more tighter denser nugs.:smoker:

Y

yamaha_1fan

if you want them at 1.5 feet at harvest, then they dont need any vegging at all, You may want to consider a SCROG or something. I believe there are some additives that stop stretching as well

I believe the 1000W will give you better nug density. Search"dense" and choose title only, not the whole thread. I know there are a few threads discussing how to make nugs denser. CO2, temps, humididty, lighting, nutes, strain all play a role

whodair

Veteran
ive found seed plant to stretch way more than clone. a strong indica clone will not gain much once you switch to 12/12. sativa seem to have a mind of their own and do whatever they want. typical female behavior.

Ganjagrower1

T5-1000W
Veteran
Thanks yamaha i will do some more research on the dense part. I am running 9 plants in a 4'x4'x7' area. I am not sure i have room for a scrog. I am looking to make big colas instead of little bud.

house

Veg to about 1/2 or 1/3 of what you want as the final height. For a 1.5 feet, you could go straight into flower and skip veg entirely. What strain are you running? How are your temps? If you really want the biggest colas at the cost of yield, cut off all axillary growth and grow a single cola.

Ganjagrower1

T5-1000W
Veteran