What's new

Green highlands foraging

Green Highland

Nettles are popping.
D4DBF02C-C54E-4F68-9890-51DA07EB62ED.jpeg

Beautiful photos!

What are those toothy lions mane looking mushrooms called? I’ve seen those popping out of the forest humus before.
These are called Hericium coralloides or in lamens terms coral tooth. It’s in the lions mane family. These are saprotrophic and will always be growing on hardwood and the teeth will always be pointing down.If they were growing out of moss there was probably some dead hardwood just under the surface. Love to eat these and they’re hella medicinal as well.

Green Highland

Didn’t find any morels today. I did find a false morel and another leek patch just off an atv trail about ten minutes from home. Wild leeks and trout Lillie’s as far as you can see in that forest. It never ceases to amaze me just how many leeks are in this area. I was a chef for 25 years and have spent lots of money on wild leeks.
F017592B-EE49-4F68-830E-E301AA5C333B.jpeg

Attachments

• 1226322F-3418-4377-B180-9121124D1E4C.jpeg
    1226322F-3418-4377-B180-9121124D1E4C.jpeg
    4.1 MB · Views: 51

Green Highland

Yesterdays finds. Also bagged some more wild leeks. Got about 4 pounds of fiddle heads, some baby pheasant backs(dryads saddle) and found a bunch of gyromitra(false morels). Heading back out today for a couple hours to see what I can find.
99576165-5DC2-49D9-875B-CB5A1EC58B2E.jpeg

Green Highland

Always awesome to see this thread..
Finished food dishes? I have some ferns to harvest so im curious how you eat them.