What's new

Any bowyers?

hfm

Hello there,any stave scraper's out there?We relocated to an area with way more hardwood's and have started making self bows.Always pretty rad getting the sneak on something.Just cut a few post oak's w/damage for recurve's and am working on a dry pig nut hickory for a recurve also.
Having to fire harden everything prior to tillering to prevent set with most of the white woods available here.Wood love to bs some other's on here if there's any about,cheers.

hfm

1000009064-jpg.18972795
1000009065.jpg

Attachments

• 1000009064.jpg
    1000009064.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 285

buzzmobile

Veteran
I am not a bowyer but I saw your post and it reminded me of a primitive art festival some years back.
DSC04935.JPG

DSC04936.JPG

Do you have any finished to show?

hfm

This was finished and shot really nice but I kept pushing it and it blew up.
1000009077.jpg
1000009078.jpg

hfm

@buzzmobile Yeah I'm just learning and blowing alot of them up still.Sometimes they shoot real nice but until I have the feel for my limits in the wood (knots,twists etc.) but also how far you can push each one during tillering and at which stages they are best to mess with.Should start finishing them to use before long.Thank you for sharing though :)

Bush Dr

Painting the picture of Dorian Gray
Veteran
I used to make traditional English longbows using hickory backed lemon wood, finally sold them in California where people were willing to pay a realistic price for the work that goes into them

hfm

Oh wow lemon huh,thats cool :) Super interested in doing some laminates down the road.Need to fool aroud for a few years though.Do you have any pictures of any of the rad ones you made that stick out in your mind?
I used to make traditional English longbows using hickory backed lemon wood, finally sold them in California where people were willing to pay a realistic price for the work that goes into th

armedoldhippy

Veteran