What's new

Early Flowering Male used in cross = Early flowering Fems in F1?

Browser

H8ters gonna h8
ICMag Donor
Veteran
Hello fellow growers,

I was wondering if I use a male that shows early flowering characteristics in a cross with a female from another variety would mean obtaining earlier flowering females (& males) in the next (f1) generation? :confused:

I reckon I'm not a genetics pro :pointlaug tho I enjoy experimenting :yummy: Although it might sound obvious (since the genetic trait of early flowering from the male is passed on to the other generation), I was wondering if this could be a sex-related trait, meaning that only the resulting males from the f1 generation will have earllier flowering... Any ideas?

Now, I know that this won't make it an stable hybrid (5-7 generations are needed for that I understand), but would such a cross produce earlier flowering ofspring (females & males)?

I have a Early Island Indica that's starting to show pods and I'll like to save some of the pollen to put my idea from above in practice. For how long and what's the best way to store the pollen?

Thanks in advance and my apologies if this issue has been covered elsewhere. I made a search on "pollen" and couldn't find anything specific to my question(s).

Greens

Yes, both the male and female offspring will get some of those earlier flowering genes from the EII. It won't make the cross finish as fast as the pure EII, but will finish earlier than the later flowering parent. Depending on the strain, it could make a very big difference.