What's new

ChemDawg easy 400w SCROG

E

Elcap

Here we go ladies and gents. Welcome to my journal. Once upon a time I was an Overgrow student, a big fan of the Maliboo inspired Mills Pride cabinet scrogs. I tried one with some NL#5 and was amazed at how easy and high yielding the DWC hydro was. I'd always done soil and was never happy with the results.

Overgrow got me through that grow with flying colors as I documented it in real time. I vegged one plant for about a month then flowered for 57 days...yield was tremendous.:yoinks:
So this round two of documenting a single plant cabinet scrog. Feel free to ask questions or make suggestions. We're all here to learn after all. BTW, I am a legal mmj patient so you won't see alot of security measures in my activities.

System Basics:
400w HPS, 6" vented hood, inline fan
30" x 20" melamine pre-fab cabinet from Home Depot
Screen of Green, single plant
Deep water culture hydroponics, using Lucas formula and Gen Hydro

First, I had to locate a desirable clone. Now I'm a sativa lover at heart. I prefer stuff like Hawaiian Snow, SSH, lambsbread, and hazy crosses like Blue Dream. But with a cabinet indoor grow, that doesn't work, so indica it will be. Around here, there is good choice. I wanted a branchy indica dom suited to indoor height restrictions and not overly smelly. I prefer NL#5 because it's a good, potent strain with relatively low odor and it is hard to kill, very forgiving of errors. It's also in the lineage of tons of "strain of the week" things. Since NL#5 hasn't been in vogue since about the mid 90s, I narrowed my choices to Bubblegum, ChemDawg, and Shiva Skunk (which is a NL#5 x SKunk#1). ChemDawg got the nod since I haven't smoked much diesel and enjoy a complex bouquet.

But first we have to put the system together, so let's get started. First I'll need a reservoir. A plastic storage tub works well, preferably a dark one to keep out light (light will encourage algae growth=bad).

First, the supplies: