What's new

Shopping tips for getting started

Le_Champ

Hi everyone, I am new to cultivation and reading online I am getting quite confused. What I want to do is to buy a grow box to grow two autoflowerings and I would like some advice:

1. Minimum size of the grow box
2. What kind of light to use and with how much power
3. In general, all the components needed to start growing
4. Does an activated carbon filter mask the odor even inside the room where the growbox is?

Thanks to anyone who will answer me!!!

Creeperpark

Mentor
Veteran
Hi everyone, I am new to cultivation and reading online I am getting quite confused. What I want to do is to buy a grow box to grow two autoflowerings and I would like some advice:

4. Does an activated carbon filter mask the odor even inside the room where the growbox is?

Welcome friend. You have a lot of good questions. You can go to our Vendors' forums and ask some of the Vendors. They are experts that can give you good recommendations. Don't worry about odors until you master your growing skills first. In the meantime, our experienced members will be along to help you after seeing this post.

Asentrouw

1. For 2-4 auto's a small tent 60x60cm (23x23 inch) is enough.

2. A 100 watts LED light should be sufficient for that size. A cheap full spectrum LED will do. More watts is bigger yield, so probably better (not for the electricity bill though).

3. You need a small fan for aircirculation, a carbon filter plus tubes, a ventilator suited for your tentsize, socket box and a timerswitch (if you also want to grow photo's). Pots, soil, etc.

4. That depends. Mostly a carbon filter reduces the smell to a absolute minimum. But loud strains in late flowering can overpower it. So that's something to take into consideration (for instance: grow low odor strains).

Such a setup should cost a few hundred bucks at most.

Last edited:

Le_Champ

1. For 2-4 auto's a small tent 60x60cm (23x23 inch) is enough.