What's new

selecting males for early maturation

sunset limited

Veteran
first off, apologies if this is posted in the wrong forum.

i'm a novice pollen chucker. here's my question. is a male that throws pollen quickly indicative of a tendency to pass the trait of quick maturation on to its female offspring?

here's why i ask. i wasn't even selecting for quicker finish time. i was looking to make the adub a little less leggy and was also digging for some decent haze pollen to dust my og's and see what we got. in the process, i stumbled across an sssdh male that might be something special. boys showing sex in a week isn't uncommon. boys that show sex and pop half their pollen sacs in 5 days is pretty damn unusual though, is it not?

if early pollen production ISN'T a good risk to produce girls that finish quicker, then what is?

therevverend

Veteran
Growing outdoors I've had a few strains that showed male preflowers and threw pollen extremely early. Their sisters were done in midAugust when everything else was late Sept. These males were on the verge of being auto flower plants, not quite. Their offspring were also quite early. However the potency was hit and miss so I'd be wary about putting all your eggs in that basket. If youre able to be selective I would experiment further with this trait. You might be able to nail down an early variety you can cross with a later flowering more potent plant.

sunset limited

Veteran
thx. even as a rookie breeder, i know better than to hedge all my bets on one cross. looks like it's definitely worth a shot though.

no auto tendencies to any of these seed starts either. due to a tech issue, i had to leave these vegging for almost 4 months, just pruning them back.

visions of 7 week valley and cookies dancing in my mind.
<fingers crossed>

hush

Señor Member
Veteran