What's new

Greenhouse misting system

Ancient Old Far

ICMag Donor
Veteran
Hello Everyone
I have a small 10' x 11' ft greenhouse. This is my first attempt at growing in a Greenhouse. I live in the S.E. US in a very hot and humid climate. The temp is already over a 100 deg F. I have a misting system in place and the mist is more like a drizzle than a mist that evaporates quickly. I realize that misting systems don't work as well in humid climates. Does anyone have any suggestions as to a better system. Thanks in advance.

Creeperpark

Mentor
Veteran
Make sure you use a black shade clothe Sun Screen on the top and hottest side.
You would do good to get yourself a greenhouse water-cooled swamp cooler. They work very well and are worth the money. Shop for the best price.

Stainless Steel Evap System for 4" Pads​

Ca++

If I were to think shade, I might look at IR window film. Loose the heat, but keep at least some of the light.
Why house them at all though.
Need a really wack idea to keep you busy? put the drizzler outside. Cool the glass with it.

Does IR pass though glass, or not. No search is really answering the question. Thermal imaging cameras don't seem to see through windows, but instead see the window. I once read the IR does not pass, but rather heats the glass, with gives off IR. If you put your hand under a HID then slip some glass over it, the IR does stop. However, just for a moment. That's the best science I have on the matter. I made a water cooled light, and it wasn't 'all that' so it's conflicting. I reckon cooling the glass might be of use though. A garden sprinkler would soon answer the question.

farmerlion

Microbial Repositories
Premium user
Mentor
Veteran
420club