What's new

Extension cord, timer or ballast malfunction!?

budeaze

I had this plugged into a 1000watt magnetic ballast. Been using it for at least a year no problem. Then all of a sudden this happened? Not sure what malfunctioned. Ive been using those style timers for about 6 years now. Ive had them stop switching on and off but never had this happen. I use all digital ballast besides this one random magnetic one.

Has anyone ever had this happen before? You think it could be the ballast that malfunctioned and was just drawing a ton of power which heated it up?

Seeing this shit scares the hell out of me...

( And no there was no water involved in this. I know there is water on top of that trash can lid but I set it there to take a picture)

Attachments

• 20140727_094608.jpg
    20140727_094608.jpg
    26.5 KB · Views: 49
Looks like you put too much power to that little timer

whats the tungsten rating on the timer?

cant use the cheep timers with a 1000w ballast, or this is what will happen sooner or later.

Im very glad you were there to deal with this problem before something bad happened

watts

ohms
Veteran
1000 watt lights are not to be used with those cheap timers. Those timers are basically meant to be used with pumps and fans, or other smaller equipment.

Kcar

There are FOUR lights!
Veteran
Know a guy that burned his house down doing that. Timer started a fire in the wall.

watts

ohms
Veteran
What timers are you using?

I use an Intermatic T-101 timer modified for portable use. If you don't want to mess with wiring, you can check out the Titan Controls Apollo 4 - 120V Ballast Timer or the Apollo 5 if using 240v.

Jhhnn

Veteran
Doesn't look like a problem with the timer but rather the plug on the extension cord. Scrape the crud off the timer, plug it in somewhere. If it works, it was the extension cord at fault.

If you're handy at all, it's easy to build your own cords with 14/3 SO cord from Home depot & some of the better end pieces.