What's new

Durban Mango

Asentrouw

I'm relatively new to breeding, but last years I've done several crosses for outdoor growing in a northern climate. From all these crosses I liked one in particular:

SG Durban (Durban x Original Thai) x LBH Ierdbei F5 ((Jack Herer x Citral x Black Domina x Swiss Miss) x Erdpurt)

The F1 cross seems quite stable, it has a early and late flowering pheno. The early ones that start flowering begin of August (lat 52) I like a lot: they have a mango smell, full of trichromes, remain columnar and under 2 meter. Takes about 8-9 weeks to finish, the buds look and smell "indoor quality" (as opposed to many strains suitable for northern climates).

They take a lot from their Durban mother, but the leaves are more slender and it seems to be even more mold resistant and resilliant due to the incorperated Ierdbei genetics (which is a hybrid Dutch erdbeer reproduction).

Because of the typical mango smell some pheno's produce, I coined it "Durban Mango".

So this year I'm making F2 seeds. I want to grow them out and stabilize these specific traits.

What's the best way to do this? Just grow them out and keep crossing those with simular traits over the years?

I don't have means or space to grow out big numbers. So what would be the most practical way to realize this on a small scale?

Attachments

• 20230822_183656.jpg
    20230822_183656.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 89
  • 20230830_153217.jpg
    20230830_153217.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 86
  • DurbanMango.jpg
    DurbanMango.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 87
Last edited:

Creeperpark

Mentor
Veteran
I'm relatively new to breeding, but last years I've done several crosses for outdoor growing in a northern climate. From all these crosses I liked one in particular:

SG Durban (Durban x Original Thai) x LBH Ierdbei F5 ((Jack Herer x Citral x Black Domina x Swiss Miss) x Erdpurt)