What's new

7 gal Compost, Gaia G, EWC grow (with issues)

PadawanWarrior

Thanks for the links, I’ll be combing through those threads between now and my next grow.

It is fun having the individual plants for sure, I can’t believe the variety that comes from seed. In the past I only used clones outdoors so this is new territory for me. The variety between phenos can be pretty amazing.

With the perlite I just meant it looks like garbage when it is tossed in a woodland setting, even though it is inert and probably doesnt harm anything. I want to try small lava rock or pumice but so far the price and availability is making it a hard sell for now.

Love the toad! and I have woodchips everywhere here as I work with trees for a living. Ive got psilocybes that pop up around here naturally. Arborist woodchips are great for the garden and soil. Ever try stropharia (wine cap) to help break down chips? They are edible as well.
Are you in the PNW? That's where I'm originally from and blue ringers grow like crazy there. As far as recycling soil keep feeding it and try to keep it moist. Cover crops help too if you're lazy like me and do no-till. Another thing I've found helpful is langbeinite and potassium sulfate. My well water has some Ca in it. It's not too bad. Around 150ppm if I remember correctly. But the Ca in the water along with Ca in the amendments can be a bit much sometimes. That's where the sulfates come in handy. Sounds like the water you're using is perfect though. But if you add too much of one nutrient like K and it's locking out Ca or Mg you can add magnesium sulfate or calcium sulfate to balance things out.

As far as pH. I've never worried about adjusting mine and my well water is around 7.8 or so. My soil is usually around 6.3 when I've tested it. Only once in 6 years has it been off (low around 5.6) and that was some old soil I added more peat too and it sat dry for awhile so it wasn't super active with microbes like my other pots.

Stuntzii