What's new

Stealth Mother Box Build, Please Comment

Illadelph

Hey IC,

I Wanted to turn this old set of Ikea type draws into a chamber for bonsai mothers. Its inside dimensions are 30x23x15 heightxwidthxdepth. I was hoping that all i would have to do is put a front and back on it, as it already has a bottom, top and two sides.

And then put this 60w florescent light in it. Let me know if this light is good for what i'm trying to do?

its a spare light for the cloning chamber in the cab I bought. (I know you do-it-yourselfers frown upon buying a grow box, but i'm not good at building shit, so please forgive me) Anyway, as far as lighting goes, the mothers dont have to grow super fast, as I only plan on using clones from them once a year. (will need 14 clones per run, so probably take 20 cuttings off it once a year)

I want to have 4 in there. Do you think that is enough space for 4 bonsai's?

I was just gong to use particle board or plywood for the front and backs, as far as the stealth factor, i wanted to just glue the drawer faces to the front panel, but I am missing one drawer. This set of drawers was already in my place when I moved in, its under a homemade workbench the previous owner appears to have built.

Do you think i could get a 30 inch drawer like that at home depot or something to replace the one that is missing?

Also, do you think I need mylar or tinfoil for the inside? The inside of the drawer box are already that white veneer that comes on most white ikea furniture, I was hoping i could just spraypaint the sides I add flat white. Would this suffice?

Also, i was going to seal the cracks with caulk, and put duct tape over the peg-holes for the drawers or shelves or whatever was intended to go in there. And obviously I can just remove the tracks for the drawers by taking the screws out.