What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Remote CFL Ballasts..... Who has the skinny on these?

Hydro-Soil

Veteran
Hey everyone! :muahaha:

I'm looking for anyone who has experience with using remote ballast CFL's. Overdriving CFLs and just plain wiring them up experience.

I can't imagine they're too different from the regular flouros but I'm not an electrician so I don't know.
I'm specifically interested in using the 4pin-plugin type.

Are there any Digital 4-lamp ballasts for these that I can run 2 lamps on for an overdriven light system?

Where's the best place online to get sockets for these bulbs?

The bulbs list higher lumens per watt ratings than the screw in self-ballasted types. Is this because they're not counting the energy the ballast draws?
(I.E. a 36W 4pin plugin bulb gives off 2,800 lumens; as also does a 42w screw in, self-ballasted bulb)

Being able to put the ballast somewhere else will really let me increase the lumens in my small area without increasing the heat as much....

*** Edit *** found the TG-11 Base Sockets!!! $1.97 each. (They're not listed on the 1000bulbs.com website though)

Call 1000bulbs.com and place a phone order. Use this item number for the sockets: SOCK-EG36070

They're the simple mount ones that just use 2 screws to hold them in place.

The Fulham Workhorse 8 ballast is 220w and will run 4 55w lamps.

3 3000K 55w lamps
1 5600K 55w lamp
1 Fulham Workhorse 8 ballast (220w)
4 TG11 Base Sockets
Shipping
220 watts of Remote CFL Goodness...... Less than $110 from 1000bulbs.com 12/2008

If anyone can find a U.S. Dealer for 2700K or lower lamps, please post a link.

*** Edit ***

Last edited:

Hydro-Soil